The Bărboi Church was built in 1841-1844 by the great chancellor Dimitrie Sturdza, on the place of another church built by the headman Ursu Bărboi between 1613 and 1615. It is the work of architect Andrei Caridi, helped by the artisans Atanasie and Gheorghe. Its patron saints are Saint Apostles Peter and Paul, celebrated each year on the 29th of June.
This parish church was initially founded as a monastery in 1583, by Greek monks, from the “Saint Sava” Monastery in Jerusalem, during the rule of Voivode of Moldavia Petru Șchiopul.
The monastic ensemble of Golia Monastery is comprised of the “Lord’s Ascension” church, an iconic square tower, fortified outer walls with four circular towers in the corners, a water house, a house with columns where Ion Creangă lived temporarily and an abbey with the “Virgin Mary’s girdle” chapel.
The Saint Spiridon Church was built between 1747-1752 with the support of boyar Ștefan Bosie and other philanthropists. The location was chosen due to a miracle worker icon of St. Spiridon, protector of the poor and father of orphans, which was placed in a small private chapel in this area.
The “Assumption of the Virgin” church was founded by boyar Savin Zmucilă vel Ban and was sanctified on the 15th of June 1705 by Misail, Metropolitan of Suceava and Moldavia. The dwelling’s name is linked to the title worn by the founder of high official of the prince (“ban”). Before this, there was another church in this place, shepherded by priest “Ioan ot Banul”, according to a document from the time of Prince Vasile Lupu (issued in 1638), while the latest evidence attest a churchly settlement here, ever since 1560.
The Iași Metropolitan Ensemble is also called “Moldavia’s Jerusalem” or “Mother of all Moldavian churches” due to the fact that it is the regional residence of the Orthodox Church.
The “Three Hierarchs” Monastery of Iași is a unique monument in Romania, situated in the historical centre of the city on “Ștefan cel Mare și Sfânt” Boulevard.